I Spy Compound Words! Flash Freebie

It’s 8:30 Central time, and I am going to make my new I Spy Compound Words!  FREE for the next two hours until 10:30 Central Time!  Hurry over to my Teachers Pay Teachers store to download your free copy now.
I have had so much fun with compound words this week!  I found some fantastic new clip art by Kate Hadfield, and just had to use it to make some great new products!  The first thing I have finished is my I Spy Compound Words!  unit.
I know how much kids love to search and find objects in pictures, and I Spy Compound Words! has children having fun while searching for pictures of compound words in a set of 8 different scenes.  There are between 12 and 17 compound words to be found in each scene.  Aren’t they cute?  I just love how they turned out!  I have 8 different scenes I created:  School Days, Life on the Farm, It’s Apple Picking Time!, Snowy Days, Springtime, Fun in the Sun, Under the Sea, and Under the Stars.

I Spy Compound Words!

These can be used with children as young as Kindergarten and they are great for students in grades 1-3.  If you have ELL students, they are a great way to help them with vocabulary.

You may project the scenes on your Smartboard  or whiteboard for a whole class activity. Wouldn’t this be a fun way to start your morning each day you study compound words?  They’re also great to use in a center.   You simply print out the 8 scenes and the accompanying compound word cords for each scene.  Laminate the scenes or put them in sheet protectors for the kiddos to use overhead markers to circle the compound words they find.

There are accompany compound words cards with just words, or words and pictures so you can differentiate based on the needs of your students.  For advanced students, have them find the compound words without using any cards. There is even a recording sheet for the kiddos to record the compound words they find.

compound word scenes2_Page_03

compound word scenes2_Page_26compound word scenes2_Page_28

Understanding and knowing compound words is an integral skills in the new CCSS.  I Spy Compound Words!  Addresses the following Common Core Standards:
Kindergarten : K.L.6 and K.RFS.3.c
1st: 1.L.6 and 1.RFS.3
2nd: 2.L.4.d
3rd: 3.RFS.3, 3.L.2.e, 3.L.4 and 3.L.6
4th: 4.L.4.c and 4.L.6
5th: 5.L.4

Click on the pictures above to go to my Teachers Pay Teachers store to check them out!

I have another really cool product for Compound Words that should be finished this week!

That’s all for today!  Remember to always…. Keep ’em Thinking!

IMG_0634

Comments

  1. Thank you so much! It was so much fun to create! I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Ask a Tech Teacher

What tech ed can I help you with?

Mr.T's Blogspot

Food for thought in the world of education

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

Practice Makes (almost) Perfect

A glimpse into life in a first grade classroom.

Cozycakes Cottage

Celebrating the Comforts of Home

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Lessons From the Middle

Lessons, Activities and Ideas For You Amazing Middle School Teachers

tothesquareinch

Just another WordPress.com site

Mrs. Kilburn's Kiddos

A Blog Dedicated to Providing Creative Resources to Fellow Teachers and Parents.

Minds in Bloom

By Rachel Lynette

Mrs B's teaching library

Sharing Unique Lessons and Classroom Tech!

Kristen's Kindergarten

Kindergarten Classroom ideas

Smart Chick Teacher's Blog

A site to share ideas from my 5th grade classroom!

